West Side Story llega en Bass Concert Hall

By Annika Erdman

Austin is a city known for live music, and as a student at UT, I spent the last four years enjoying the concert tours visiting Austin and live music at local restaurants. However, last night, I realized I had been missing out on the live musical theater right on campus.

Thursday’s  8 p.m. performance West Side Story brought me to Bass Concert Hall for the first time. Excited about the event, I entered the venue humming “I Feel Pretty” as I climbed the steps into the orchestra section. The hall itself is beautiful and recently renovated, with a stage that has hosted musicians and musicals since it opened in 1981.

If you have been missing out on the theater at Bass, make up for it this weekend and go see West Side Story. The final performance is Sunday, April 3 at 7:30 p.m. Tickets start at $30, but there are student season packages available, with single tickets for only $10. Bring a friend and enjoy the bar before the show, or during intermission, if you’re 21 or older.

Photo by Annika Erdman

From the opening notes of the performance, to Maria’s tragic closing scene, I was thrilled with the Broadway Across America production. I have seen West Side Story produced live before, as well as the 1961 movie version, but I was floored with the energy and choreography of actors and dancing. The mixture of Spanish in the lyrics and dialogue of the characters made the show seem more real than other version I’ve been to in the past.

My only regret leaving the theater was that I won’t be in Austin for the 2011-2012 season at Bass. Beauty and the Beast, Wicked and South Pacific – to name a few- are all arriving at Bass in the coming months.

This entry was posted in What's Happening This Week and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to West Side Story llega en Bass Concert Hall

  1. Amanda Robalin says:

    West Side Story was fabulous! I was so pleased with the production and the caliber of the artists. I saw Legally Blonde at Bass last year and both of these shows have really cemented the validity of real talent in the series at Bass Concert Hall.

  2. Thu Pham says:

    I went to see this just tonight! I absolutely love Bass Concert Hall. I used to work there so I guess I’m a bit partial. However, if students are big fans of the shows there, they should sign up to have a student membership with Bass. Also, if you dont want a membership, you can always look for Student Rush events where ticket prices are half off with your UT ticket.

    I did that today for West Side Story and got orchestra seats for $25!

Leave a Reply

