Bob Bullock History Museum celebrates ten years

Photo by Annika Erdman

When I think of Austin, the Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum always comes to mind. While it’s definitely not the location for a wild night out, I think the museum warrants a visit from tourists and Austinites alike.

The first time I went there, I was still in elementary school, and was visiting my grandparents in Texas. I have great memories of the exhibits and the experience of the Story of Texas movie.

I remember being awed by the entry of the museum, the beautiful mosaic and the enormity of the lobby. The gift shop adjacent to the lobby lured me in with Texas souvenir staples, and lots of quirky items.

As a college student, I returned to UT and fondly remember trips to the museum. Admittedly, I haven’t been back except to see blockbuster movies on the IMAX screen, but when I saw that the 10-year anniversary was this year, it reminded me of how much I enjoyed the museum.

It’s a great way to introduce visitors to the city, especially when trying to escape a particularly hot, summer day. After walking the Bob Bullock¬† exhibits, you can watch one of their more educational IMAX films (currently, there are four playing) or feature films like Pirates of the Caribbean IV: coming May 20.

Museum admission tickets are $6 for kids, $7 for seniors, $8 for college students and $9 for adults.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized, What's Always "Weird" and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bob Bullock History Museum celebrates ten years

  1. Rachel Levi says:

    So true about what you said how it may not be the ideal place to go party but it is an awesome place to check out. I went there when I was little with my grandparents and whenever I drive by it I’m like “ohh i’ve been there already” but I think it would be fun to go back and check it out again!

  2. Destinee Hodge says:

    This is probably one of the most under-appreciated attractions here in Austin. The displays are amazing and they really do tell the “story” of Texas. I will say that this is coming from a complete museum nerd but it’s definitely a place that everyone (resident or visitor) should visit.

Leave a Reply

